Inaugural National Pharmacy Residency Conference


On 23 February, the Office of Residency Training (ORT), NUS organised the inaugural National Pharmacy Residency Conference at the NUSS Kent Ridge Guild House for the pioneer cohort of seven Pharmacy Residents from the January 2016 intake who successfully completed their 12-month residency training under the Ministry of Health (MOH)-funded National Pharmacy Residency Programmes. Out of the seven graduands, five had completed the postgraduate Year 1 (PGY1) programme and two completed the Cardiology and Geriatrics postgraduate Year 2 (PGY2) residency programme, respectively.


In her welcome address, Prof Lita CHEW, MOH’s Chief Pharmacist, congratulated the residents and emphasised the important roles of advanced practice and specialist pharmacists in team-based patient and care integration, while serving as trusted medication experts, clinical educators and future leaders of the pharmacy workforce. She also urged pharmacy managers and leaders to support the commitment to reshape the pharmaceutical industry with a clear narrative of pharmacists’ roles and their potential contributions.


The Guest-of-Honour, Prof Benjamin ONG, MOH’s Director of Medical Services (DMS), noted the evolving healthcare landscape and the need to develop a future-ready healthcare system to address these challenges. This fast-evolving landscape requires pharmacists to continually acquire new competencies and enhance their professional and clinical skills through postgraduate education and clinical training programmes. Pharmacists with specialised expertise also play a role in ensuring safe and appropriate medication use in specific disciplines, such as cardiology and oncology, or patient populations such as geriatrics. Beyond involvement in research, Prof Ong urged the residents to also lead care transformation efforts, with a focus on reaching out to the community beyond acute care and promoting health and disease prevention, while balancing the quest for quality with value creation.


The conference’s invited speaker, Prof CHEN Fun Gee, Director of the Division of Graduate Medical Studies, NUS spoke about the importance and objectives of assessments in competency-based training. He shared examples of the different assessment methods that could be applied to evaluate clinical skills. He also provided the participants with an overview of the portfolio-based assessment framework which would be used for evaluating residents in the near future.


Prof ONG then presented the graduating residents their Certificate of Completion, at a certificate award ceremony.

The seven residents who successfully completed the residency programmes are:


National Pharmacy Residency Programme (PGY1)

Ms CHEW Yue Xin Cindy

Mr HO Choon Siang

Mr LEE Chee Ping

Ms TAN Weilin Rachel

Ms YAO Yao


National Pharmacy Residency Programme in Cardiology (PGY2)

Dr CHANG Shu-wen Grace

National Pharmacy Residency Programme in Geriatrics (PGY2)

Ms CHEONG Tingting, Selina


In addition to receiving their Certificate of Completion, the residents were also given the opportunity to present their research projects which they had undertaken during the course of their residency programme.


In his closing address, Prof Alexandre CHAN, ORT’s Academic Advisor and Deputy Head, Department of Pharmacy, congratulated the residents on their achievements and expressed his hope that the residency programmes would be the spark to light their pathways as they continued to upgrade themselves and to improve healthcare services for hospitals and patients.


Pharm Residency Conference2017 01

Group photo of the residents with the Guest-of-Honour, Prof Benjamin Ong, Director of Medical Services, MOH; Prof Lita CHEW, Chief Pharmacist, MOH; Prof Alexandre CHAN, Academic Advisor, ORT; Residency Programme Directors, Associate Programme Directors, Preceptors and MOH representatives


Pharm Residency Conference2017 02

Left to right: Dr Chang Shu-Wen Grace, Ms Yao Yao, Ms Chew Yue Xin Cindy, Mr Ho Choon Siang, Ms Cheong Tingting, Selina.  Not in the picture: Mr Lee Chee Ping, Ms Tan Weilin Rachel