Distinguished Science Alumni Awards 1999
HUANG Hsing Hua
BSc(Hons) 1955, MSc 1957
Emeritus Professor HUANG Hsing Hua is renowned for his research in the field of physical organic chemistry and spectroscopy, and his career is as distinguished as the awards he has won: the Queen's Scholarship, the University Council Fellowship tenable at the University of Cambridge, the Gold Medal for Public Administration, the NSTB Science Award among them. He has published over 140 papers in refereed international journals and he has supervised some 9 PhD students and 21 MSc students, among them another fellow recipient of this award, Dr YEO Ning Hong.
Professor HUANG Hsing Hua graduated from the University of Malaya (Singapore) with an Honours degree in Chemistry in 1955 followed by a Master's degree in 1957. After obtaining a PhD degree from Oxford University he returned to the University of Malaya (Singapore) as an Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry.
When he was President of the Singapore National Institute of Chemistry from 1976 to 1992, the institute organised and was actively involved in programmes that helped promote chemistry in Singapore as well as the international scene. Professor HUANG started scholarships for 'O' and 'A' level pupils to encourage and reward achievements in the subject. He also played an active role in the affairs of the Federation of Asian Chemical Societies (FACS), in which he served as President from 1985 to 1987.
As Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the National University of Singapore from 1981 to 1994 he worked with Professor LIM Pin to oversee a sharp rise in student enrolment, in research activity and funding, as well as an increase in the number of staff. He was a driving force in the promotion of multidisciplinary research and the setting up of such centres. His work has certainly contributed to lifting the image of NUS among global tertiary institutions.
We are honoured to have had such a talent study in and serve our Faculty and University, and now, with pride present Dr HUANG Hsing Hua the Distinguished Science Alumni Award 2000.